Loading images...

September, 2015:

MSNSW 40th Anniversary Dinner – 12 September 2015

Report by Ann Reid

Over 150 people, mostly NSW members of Masters Swimming, enjoyed a great night celebrating Masters Swimming Australia’s 40th Anniversary on Saturday, 12 September 2015. Tuggeranong members: Leisa Cass, Gary (and Audrey) Stutsel, Cecelia Kaye, Anne Smyth and Ann (and Pete) Reid were joined by Molonglo’s Ross Burden at a table with four Ryde members. A wrapped gift awaited each diner.

MC, Stephen Lamy (Manly), kept us entertained during the evening with the news, songs etc of forty years ago. Photos from the last forty years were projected on to the wall — several Tuggeranong members were spotted — there was even a photo of our pool.

Gary Stutsel, a founding and life member of Masters Swimming in Australia, gave an interesting account of the formation of Masters swimming in NSW (and Australia). Gary has been a member of seven different clubs so far — keep this in mind for future trivia competitions!

Paul Wyatt (Coogee-Randwick) and Carol Dawson (long-time Official and swimmer from Cronulla) also contributed with memories from the past 40 years.

Various people were recognised for their contribution to Masters Swimming in NSW, such as life members.

There was a photo booth, a lolly bar, a huge swimming pool anniversary cake and of course the dance floor.

Recognition was given to the oldest and youngest present at the dinner; Leisa was recognised as the member present whose birthday was closest to the anniversary date!

There were trivia questions that challenged us. “Name the six state presidents”, “name all the clubs Gary Stutsel has belonged to”,  When Jane ((Noake, President) asked “what year were the nationals last held “…. Ann (Reid) was on her feet before Jane finished with “in the ACT?” (Organising officials and volunteers back in 2006 is still fairly fresh in Ann’s memory!). Anne (Smyth) was first and loudest with the answer to “which club had won the most state championships” — Seaside Pirates.

A DJ kept the music (also from the past 40 years) going and the dance floor got pretty crowded.

So with prizes, a good workout on the dance floor (Ann showed them all how to do the Nutbush!), our lolly-filled 40th anniversary glasses, extra anniversary cake and lots of good memories to take home this was a fantastic night and well worth the trip to Sydney.

Check out the photos on the NSW website.

Tuggeranong Challenge – 19 September 2015

Report by Leisa Cass, Club President

The club’s “Tuggeranong Challenge” was held on Saturday, 19 September 2015 back at the newly refurbished Lakeside Leisure Centre.

To be a part of the Challenge ,swimmers needed to compete in 3 events, across the three distances, 50m, 100m and 200m and each must be in a different stroke. The overall winner is the person who’s total actual swim times are the closest to their total nominated swim times. So if a swimmers does 2 sec faster in their 50m and 2 sec slower in their 200m, they do not cancel each other out, but give a total difference of 4 seconds.

There were some pretty slick swims during the day (as well as a couple of not so slick times — putting my hand up for one of those!). New comer Ed Linder took a few by surprise with a fast 31.02 sec for 50m Freestyle and 1:11.03 for 100m Freestyle after only joining us a few months ago. David Hennessy swam three good times taking 7 seconds off his 100m Breaststroke entry time and 11 seconds off his 200m Freestyle entry time. Jane Waddleton improved across all three of her Breaststroke swims.

Richard Flockart was consistent, as were Nick Dando, Suzie Gunning, Liz Needham and so many others, but most consistent of all was Anne Smyth with only 1.34 seconds total difference from her nominated times across the three swims to take out the Challenge trophy for 2015. In second place overall was Caroline Makin with a total difference of 1.38 seconds and in third place David Bale with a total difference of 2.98 seconds.

Winners of the three individual Challenge events were 50m — David Bale (exact time), 100m — Greg Gourley (23/100th second off nominated time), and 200m  — Suze Gunning and Tim Booth = 1st (10/100th second off nominated time).

The handicapped relay to finish off came down to the wire with a close finish across all the lanes, and Tuggeranong just coming in the winner.

Full results are available.