Loading images...

May, 2014:

MS 24-Hour Mega Swim 2014

Report by Jon McRae

Our club put together and entered a Tuggeranong Masters “Viking Piranhas” team this year into the Canberra MS Mega Swim for a very creditable swim and fund raising performance.

This fun event was held at the AIS pool over the weekend of 4/5 May 2014 where our 15 team members were in the pool for a 24 hour continuous relay swim from 12 noon Saturday until 12 noon Sunday.  A good work out for all team members who each typically spent an average of 90 minutes swimming laps.

Lots of our team members took the opportunity to clock up swims in the Vorgee Endurance 1000 program and in the one event we notched up 1263 points, which is more points than we normally do in a month!

The event raised around $144,000 in Canberra this year and our team contributed $4,400 towards this total.  Both of these sums of money were higher than the goals set before the event.  Greg Gourley led a late charge in our team fund raising with an excellent individual sum of $1,495 raised.

David Bale (pictured left) represented our club in the special SPEED/MONEY RAISED race. Although he did not win, David put in a very fast 100m Freestyle swim and raised a creditable $924 in donations.  From all in the team – well done David!

Huge congratulations also to Deborah Johns who organised a separate work team.  Deborah is a wonderful fund raiser (she personally raised a staggering $2,863!) and her team managed a fantastic result towards this worthwhile cause as well as looking great in their co-ordinated swim gear.

Annette Britten awarded 2013 MSNSW Administration Award

Report by Leisa Cass, Club President

Tuggeranong Masters Swimming ACT are proud to announce that our former President, Annette Britten, has been selected as the winner of the 2013 MSNSW Administration Award.

The award was announced on Saturday 17 May 2014 at the Masters Swimming NSW AGM and is in recognition of outstanding contribution to club administration. This may include any area of administration: president, secretary, treasurer, race secretary, recorder, club captain etc or any combination of these. In nominating a club member, we recognise the contribution that volunteers make towards our club.

Annette has been a long time member of our club, and over the years has taken on many roles to support and promote the club and Masters Swimming. Annette has always undertaken these roles with enthusiasm, dedication and excellent organisation.

Her contribution to Tuggeranong Masters Swimming ACT, and to Masters Swimming as a whole, has been significant and without it, our club would not be in the strong position it is today.

On finding out about her award Annette commented “Seems everyone knew about this before me. Weekend in the bush with no technology and the first I hear about it was my brother sending a text message  this morning saying congratulations … I had to do some research on the internet to figure out what he was talking about – what a wonderful surprise.”

Big congratulations and thanks Annette for all your hard work over the last few years! So well deserved.